The 8 Best Vegan Mints- 2019

We’ve done the research to come up with a list of the best vegan mints. Maybe you’re here because you read our “are Altoids vegan” post and learned that most of them are not even vegetarian.

But, thankfully, there are some great brands, old and new, making vegan mints today.

Non-vegan ingredients to watch for in mints include:

  • Gelatin – made from the cartilage and/or bones of slaughtered pigs and other animals.
  • Shellac – made from secretions from female lac beetles.
  • Sugar*
  • Carmine – made from crushed female cochineal insects.
  • Beeswax – made by bees to store their honey.

Why is sugar listed?

Sugar is vegan itself because it comes from a plant. But, many companies in the United States use sugar that is processed through bone char. Bone char is charcoal created by burning the bones of slaughtered animals. Sugar companies that use bone char contribute to the profit of the meat industry which would otherwise have to spend a lot of money to dispose of those bones.

The vegan breath mints listed below do not contain any animal ingredients, and the brands that use it have stated that their sugar is vegan as well. Here you’ll find a variety of mints for different tastes and dietary needs.

This post may contain affiliate links.

List of Vegan Mints – 2019

Simply Mints

Simply Gum Mints Peppermint

Simply Gum is the name of the brand. Yes, they make gum, but they also make refreshing mints that are certified vegan by Vegan Action.

Simply Gum is known for using simple ingredients. Their peppermint mints, for example, contain only three ingredients: cane sugar, peppermint oil, and calcium stearate.

Also available in cinnamon, and ginger. Besides vegan certification, Simply Gum’s mints are certified Non-GMO and kosher.

Root Chews

I’m so glad to have a refillable mint option to share. Root Chews are dried parsley root tossed with peppermint oil. That’s it!
Root Chews come in packets made from recyclable paper. The company also offers a refillable plastic container made from BPA-free food-safe polypropylene for easy chewing on the go. (You could also probably use an old Altoids tin from before you knew they weren’t vegan.)

Root Chews are available on Amazon but you can also order directly from the company. I love that they have an option of ordering three small packets in a stamped envelope.


Vermints makes vegan, USDA organic, gluten-free, non-GMO, nut-free, kosher mints. Their Wintergreen flavor actually includes flecks of organic peppermint leaves.

Other Vermints flavors include coffee, chai, cinnamon, ginger, and peppermint, and all come in reusable metal tins. Vermints’ manufacturing process avoids cross-contamination with many common allergens – view a list here.

PUR Mints

Pür Mints are sugar-free, gluten-free, aspartame-free, nut-free, soy-free, and non-GMO, so they’re great for people with allergies. Xylitol is the sweetener used.

Pür Mints come in spearmint, mojito lime, tangerine tango, peppermint, and polar mint.

Sencha Naturals Green Tea Mints

Sencha Naturals Green Tea Mints are sugar-free (they use stevia leaf extract). All flavors include the organic Matcha green tea Sencha is known for. But besides their original green tea flavor, they also offer Tropical Mango, Pink Dragonfruit, Moroccan Mint, Bombay Chai & Yuzu Ginger flavors.

Sencha Naturals is a certified B-Corp. They also sell a vegan matcha latte mix.

Newman’s Own Organic Mints

Newman’s Own Organic Mints use USDA certified organic sugar. One hundred percent of profits from Newman’s Own go to the Newman’s Own Foundation which provides grants to numerous non-profits.

These vegan mints are packaged in a reusable metal tin and come in Wintergreen, Peppermint, Cinnamon, and Ginger.

Leone’s Mints

Italian company Pastiglie Leone has been making their “candy originals” since 1857. Leone recently updated some of their recipes and has obtained vegan certification for all Candy Original flavors from Italian organization VeganOK.

There may be some older formulations still available for sale. Look for the box with the green VeganOK logo or check the ingredients in our free vegan ingredient checker.

Tic Tacs*

Not all Tic Tacs are vegan, but many are. Check out our guide to vegan Tic Tacs for more information.

Did we miss any great vegan mints? Let us know your favorites in the comments.

What do you think?

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

No Comments Yet.