Sign up with your email address to be the first to know about new products, VIP offers, blog features & more.

Are Tic Tacs Vegan?

I’ve loved orange tic tacs since I was little, so I’ve been a little afraid to ask, are tic tacs vegan? The answer is, most current orange tic tacs, and many tic tacs are vegan, but some flavors are not vegan. It really depends on which factory made the Tic Tacs – the same flavor may be vegan in one place, and not in another.

A customer service agent for Tic Tacs’ parent company, Ferrero, wrote to me that some tic tacs contain carmine and/or shellac which are not vegan, and some candy cane Tic Tacs contain dairy, but all other flavors are vegan. They also wrote that Ferrero does not use sugar or other ingredients that have been processed through bone char or animal rennet, and they do not do any animal testing. See bottom of post for exact language.

It’s tricky to make a list of vegan and non-vegan Tic Tac flavors because the same flavors have different formulas in different countries. For example, the Cherry Cola flavor on the USA website is vegan, but the one on the Australian website is not. Currently, the USA website only lists vegan flavors. However, some non-vegan flavors not listed are still available at stores in the United States.


Watch out for these non-vegan ingredients in some Tic Tacs:

  • Carmine – a red pigment produced by boiling certain insects.
  • Carminic Acid – the coloring agent in Carmine, a red pigment produced by boiling certain insects.
  • Shellac – resin excreted by the female lac beetle, used to create a shiny coating on candies. It is now often replaced by carnauba wax.
  • Milk – a fluid produced in the mammary glands of mammals intended for feeding their babies.

If you’re shopping online, use our free ingredient search engine to paste and search all the ingredients at once.

Currently, any Tic Tacs with printed images on them, like the Despicable Me series, or the Valentine’s Day Be Mine Mix, use shellac, even if the base flavor is normally vegan.


Vegan Tic Tac Flavors
Update: A reader commented that they found a box of orange Tic Tacs in Australia that contained Shellac. The Tic Tacs listed as vegan below are based on the most recent information available in each country. For example, as of December 2017 on the Australian Tic Tacs website, orange does not contain shellac. However, previous formulas may have contained it, so always check the ingredients and watch out for the non-ingredients listed at the beginning of this post. I wish it was simpler!

I’ve included affiliate links to purchase flavors on Amazon when available.

  • Apple Burst Tic Tacs – UK
  • Apple Mix Tic Tacs – USA
  • Arctic Rush – Canada
  • Berry Tic Tacs – USA
  • Berry Cherry – USA
  • Cherry Cola Mixers Tic Tacs – USA version is vegan – check ingredients for carminic acid just in case.
  • Cherry Passion Tic Tacs
  • Cinnamon Tic Tacs (discontinued)
  • Coconut Pinapple Mixers Tic Tacs – UK, Australia
  • Duo de Fraises Tic Tacs – France
  • Duo de Fraises Tic Tacs – France
  • Fresh Mint Tic Tacs – UK, Canada
  • Freshmints Tic Tacs – USA
  • Fruit Adventure Tic Tacs – USA, Canada, Australian (98g size only)
  • Green Apple Halloween Tic Tacs
  • Mint Evolution Tic Tacs – USA
  • Mint Rush Tic Tacs – UK
  • Orange Tic Tacs – USA, Australia, Canada
  • Peach Lemonade Tic Tacs – Canada
  • Pêche Tic Tacs – France
  • Peppermint Tic Tacs – USA, Australia
  • Pina Colada Tic Tacs – USA
  • Powermint Tic Tacs – discontinued
  • Spearmint Mix Tic Tacs – USA
  • Strawberry Fields Tic Tacs – UK, USA
  • Strawberry Fusion – Canada
  • Wintergreen Tic Tacs – USA

Non-vegan Tic Tac Flavors

  • Be Mine Mix – contains shellac
  • Berries Tic Tacs – Australia – contains carmine
  • Candy Cane Mints – contains dairy
  • Cerise Cola – France – contains carmine
  • Cerise et Fruit de la Passion – France – contains carmine
  • Cherry Cola Tic Tacs – UK, Canada, and Australian version contains carminic acid – check ingredients. United States version is vegan.
  • Cherry Passion Tic Tacs – UK – contains carminic acid
  • Citron Vert et Orange – France – contains carmine
  • Despicable Me Banana and Mandarin – contains shellac
  • Despicable Me Banana and Tangerine – contains shellac
  • Emotics Orange Tic Tacs – contains shellac
  • Emotics Peppermint Tic Tacs – contains shellac
  • Fruit Adventure Tic Tacs – UK, Australia 24g and 49g sizes – contains carminic acid
  • Grape Tic Tacs – contains carmine
  • Lime and Orange Tic Tacs – UK – contains carminic acid

More About Tic Tacs

Tic Tacs is a brand of small, hard, sucking candies, owned by Ferrero which is also the owner of Nutella, Kinder Eggs, and Ferrero Rocher chocolates. Tic Tacs were introduced in 1969. Around forty-five percent of the world’s tic tacs are produced in Cork, Ireland. The Tic Tacs sold in the United States seem to be made in Canada.


What About Carcinogenic Food Colorings?

One of the reasons some flavors of Tic Tacs are vegan in the United States but not in other countries is because other countries have banned synthetic food dyes that are allowed in the U.S. Those countries end up using carmine made from bugs instead of Red 40 which is made from petroleum or coal byproducts. While carmine can cause severe allergic reactions, Red 40, Blue 1, and Yellow 5 have links to possible health risks including cancer and hyperactivity. However, in some of their newer flavors, Tic Tac has been using vegan and “natural” colorings such as beet powder and carotene, so it seems like pretty soon we’ll be able to have our cake and eat it too.

Are Tic Tacs Vegan - two kinds of orange tic tacs

In Canada, orange Tic Tacs are actually white, and they come in a see-thru plastic container. I’d love to get my hands on some of those.


Customer Service E-mails:

Ferrero Customer Service, 12/5/2017:
“Tic Tac flavors with carmine and shellac are not vegan. Candy Cane mints contain dairy. All other flavors are vegan.”

Ferrero Customer Service, 12/6/2017:
“Our Ferrero products do not contain any ingredients processed through bone char, or animal rennet.”

Ferrero Customer Service, 12/13/2017:
“To answer your question, we do not do any animal testing.”

 

SaveSaveSaveSave

SaveSaveSaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSaveSaveSave

7 Responses
  • Benno
    January 9, 2018

    A collegue at work has orange tic tacs and the ingredients clearly say shellac 🙁 Posting from Brisbane, Aus

    • rebsy
      January 9, 2018

      Very interesting. That is too bad. Thanks for letting me know! Right now on the Australian website, it lists the glazing agent as carnauba wax, and shellac is not listed. Perhaps they changed the formula recently and there are still older Tic Tacs circulating…

      • Benno
        January 9, 2018

        Ya! It’s a large packet, tic tacs are white and in glazing agents it lists both Shellac and carnauba wax

  • Brooklyn Ni
    March 23, 2018

    I am trying to find out if peppermint tic tax gum is vegan

  • Reda
    June 8, 2018

    The biggest question for if Tic Tacs are vegan is if the magnesium stearate is made from stearic acid from plants or animals. I have searched online and have not been able to find an answer. Has anyone contacted the company about this? I was disappointed to not find any mention of vegetarian or vegan on their FAQ page.

    • rebsy
      June 8, 2018

      When I reached out to Tic Tags they said, “Tic Tac flavors with carmine and shellac are not vegan. Candy Cane mints contain dairy. All other flavors are vegan.”
      I will follow-up and ask specifically where their Magnesium Stearate comes from. It seems like increasingly it is sourced from plants.

What do you think?

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *