In Search of Vegan Gummy Bears

UPDATED ON May 2nd, 2022

Most Gummy Bears Aren’t Even Vegetarian

Originally Published May 10, 2017.

Most gummy bears contain gelatin made from the cartilage, bones, hooves, or skin of slaughtered pigs, and sometimes other animals. In other words, most gummy bears are not vegan, vegetarian, halal, or kosher.

Fortunately there are some vegan gummy bears on the market. Here you’ll find:

  • List of vegan gummy bears
  • List of gummy bears to avoid
  • Contact info to ask companies to make vegan gummy bears
  • Links to vegan gummy bear recipes and more

This post may contain affiliate links.

List of Vegan Gummy Bears

Surf Sweets Organic Fruity Bears

Surf Sweets organic fruity bears

  • Vegan, 96% organic
  • The organic fruity bears are available for less here at Thrive Market.
  • Company also makes non-vegan candies with gelatin and confectioner’s glaze – make sure you’re getting the right ones.
  • Allergy safe for top ten most common food allergies

Project 7 Low Sugar Gummy Bears 

Project 7 vegan gummy bears

I have tried these and like them.

  • Vegan
  • Only 3g sugar, 6 net carbs, 60 calories per bag.
  • Free from IMO, maltitol, sugar alcohols and inulin
  • No artificial sweeteners or preservatives

The Organic Candy Factory Mixed Berry Gummy Cubs

Organic Candy Factory Berry Gummy Cubs

  • Vegan, Kosher certified, USDA organic.
  • They used to have a peach flavor that was also amazing, but it looks like it’s unavailable for now.

Tommy’s Bears

Tommy's Bears Vegan Gummy Bears

  • Vegan, Kosher, Fat-Free, Nut-Free.
  • Certified Halal
  • Made with real fruit juice
  • I tried these and I like the flavors.

Squish Vegan Gummy Bears

Squish Prosecco Vegan Gummy Bears

  • Flavor selections include Rainbow, Chili Watermelon, and Sparkling which I think is a champagne flavor and comes in a bucket.
  • Company has several other vegan products including gummy sharks, witches and elephants, and a vegan website section.

Organic Vegan Gummy Bears in Bulk from

  • Vegan
  • Unclear who makes these.

Sprouts Vegan Gummy Bears

Sprouts is a supermarket chain in the United States, and they now have vegan gummy bears under their own brand name. Please note that Sprouts also sells non-vegan gummi bears. The vegan ones say “vegan” right on the front of the package in big letters.

Annie’s Organic Bunny Fruit Snacks (not bears, but close!)

  • Vegan
  • Certified organic
  • Includes Vitamin C
  • Naturally gluten-free

ökovital Bär ohne Gelatine (Europe)

  • Vegan
  • Has an AMAZING black currant flavor.
  • I stumbled upon these in a vegan supermarket in Paris. If you’re in Paris you can get them at the all-vegan branches of Naturalia. I got them at this vegan Naturalia at 39 rue Merlin, Paris. (Check out my round up of other great vegan food in Paris)
  • Available online at these German websites Miraherba and Naturkost. Not sure where they ship to. I think these two websites sell them in different sizes which accounts for the price difference.

Make Your Own Vegan Gummy Bears and more …

  • video by Ela Gale on how to make them.
  • recipe using agar agar powder by Cierra’s Country Life
  • recipe for vegan sour gummy cocktail by Miss Kitchen Witch
  • soy sauce gummy bears??!
  • And check out this affordable gummy bear mold set so you can make your own gummy bears in the perfect shape!

Going to be in Simbach am Inn, the German Bavarian town just across the Inn river from Austria?

Simbach Am Inn Coat of Arms - Vegan Gummy Bears somewhere

Supposedly the store Rerformhaus Kusiekthey sells some vegan gummy bears.

with company contact info.

Black Forest Organics Gummy Bears – NOT VEGETARIAN OR VEGAN
Black Forest Organic Gummy Bears Contain Parts of Slaughtered Pigs

  • Contains gelatin from slaughtered pigs.
  • Ferrara Candy has gone out of its way to rebrand Black Forest as an organic brand. The bears are organic, gluten-free, and have natural flavors – but still have gelatin!
  • CONTACT THEM NOW with this form to request vegan gummy bears.
  • Tweet at Black Forest’s parent company Ferrara Candy @FerraraCandy

Haribo Gold-Bears contain parts of slaughtered pigs or cows.

  • Gold-Bears produced in Germany contain gelatin from slaughtered pigs.
  • Gold-Bears produced in Turkey contain gelatin from slaughtered cows.
  • A recent German documentary alleges that workers producing Haribo’s carnauba wax work in terrible conditions, and that the pigs used for gelatin also come from an abusive animal farm.
  • Kosher Gold-Bears contain gelatin from slaughtered fish, white and yellow beeswax
  • Website says they also make fruit gummi’s without animal products, but those products are nowhere to be found, and when I e-mailed customer service asking which products were vegan I received a form letter touting the benefits of animal gelatin without answering my question.
  • CONTACT HARIBO with this this form to let them know you want vegan gummy bears.
  • Tweet at HARIBO to ask for vegan gummy bears and other candies @OfficialHARIBO

YumEarth Naturals Gummy Bears

  • Contains gelatin.
  • The YumEarth’s gummy bear packing is somewhat deceptive. The bag says that the product is free of dairy, egg, fish, shellfish – as well as other allergens like nuts and soy. This would lead many to believe the product is vegan, but they’re only talking about allergens, not animal products. Remember there are many animal products including gelatin, that are not considered allergens.
  • In 2017 the YumEarth Naturals website said: “We are hoping to make all products vegan by the end of 2017, stay tuned!” Now, it’s 2021 and there are still using gelatin.
  • YumEarth Naturals does make some vegan products. I love their Pomegranate licorice.
  • Tweet at YumEarth to let them know you’re still waiting for vegan gummy bears. @YumEarth

Albanese 12 Flavor Gummi Bears – NOT VEGETARIAN OR VEGAN
Albanese Gummy Bears contain parts of slaughtered pigs and cows.

  • Contains gelatin from slaughtered pigs.
  • Call (855) 272-3227 or fill out this contact form but watch out – it tries to sign you up for a mailing list, and if you uncheck the mailing list box, but then forget to put a phone number, it reloads and rechecks the mailing list box.
  • Tweet at Albanese candy to ask for vegan gummy bears and other candies @AlbaneseCandy

Trolli Classic Bears – NOT VEGETARIAN OR VEGAN
Trolli Classic Bears contain parts of slaughtered pigs.

  • I don’t think these exact bears are made anymore now that they’re owned by the same company that owns Black Forest but they make many other gummy candies, and you can still find them on a few websites so just in case:
  • Contains gelatin.
  • Also contains Sodium Lactate and Lactic Acid which may or may not be vegan. Have not received a response from customer service.
  • Other Trolli brand gummies also contain gelatin.
  • Tweet at Trolli to tell them you don’t buy their products because of the gelatin. @Trolli_USA

So, let’s fill the world with vegan gummy bears! Not really, I mean, they’re not great for you no matter what with all that added sugar. But I’d like to have some on occasion.










What do you think?

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  • Coral Bohl
    February 4, 2019

    I work in a very diversified school and am looking for a ‘just-right’ snack for my students. I made the mistake thinking that the Black Forest Organic Gummy Bears were a safe choice until I read there was gelatin added…Please make this out of the “Other” Agar gelatin so I do not have to buy different snacks for different students. Thank You..

    • rebsy
      February 4, 2019

      Hi Coral, Sorry to hear about that. Check out some of the gelatin-free gummy bear options listed above. Black Forest does not read this comment section so you will want to e-mail them directly to voice your dissatisfaction. Here is a link to contact their parent company:

  • Jan
    May 6, 2019

    Bears & Friends have gelatine free versions of their gummy bears. They have stores throughout Bavaria and into Austria and Switzerland. The bags are clearly labelled vegetarisch (vegetarian) and One Gelatine (No Gelatine).

    • Jan
      May 6, 2019

      Ohne not One… means none or no in German.

  • Ben
    July 20, 2019

    Hello, I am eating the Black Forest Organic Fruit Chews. I do not see gelatin in the ingredient list. Are you sure these are not vegan?

    • Rebecca
      September 18, 2019

      Hi Ben, The fruit chews are an entirely different product from the gummy bears. The fruit chews may well be vegan – it may depend on whether Black Forest uses sugar filtered through bone charcoal or not. I will look into it.

      • kissm mybutt
        October 15, 2020

        ok also wondering about black forest fruit chews see i am not vegan but i am a selective omnivore for pigs so i need to know this as well

  • Debra
    November 29, 2019

    I sent an email to the ferra company about the black forest organic gummy worms and below is their response

    Thank you for contacting Ferrara Candy Company regarding Black Forest Organic Gummy Worms.

    We are sorry for the confusion, however we currently do not have any vegan certified products. All of our gummy products contain pork gelatin. Each ingredient is tested regularly to determine which raw materials work best to maintain the quality of Ferrara confections. We established that the pork gelatin currently used in our confections holds the product better than other gelatin types.

    Our organic statement is to inform consumers that our products are made with 100 percent naturally sourced ingredients. We will send this information into our marketing and development team to inform them that there is a demand for certified vegan friendly products.

    Thank you for taking the time to contact us with your request! Please visit our website at for additional information about our products and services.


    John N.
    Consumer Relations

    • kissm mybutt
      October 15, 2020

      thx no more blach forest *crys cause i hate knowing when i eat pig:(*

  • Mark
    January 24, 2020

    Also check out: JUMMI

    Unique Candy Company, the inspirational vegetarian softer gummi