E481

UPDATED ON February 7th, 2019

E481 may or may not be vegan. Also known as Sodium Stearoyl-2 Lactylate, it is a salt of a compound of Stearic Acid, Lactic Acid, and Polylactic Acid, used in foods and cosmetics as an emulsifier. Stearic Acid can have animal or plant sources. Please check with the manufacturer.