E341

E341 may or may not  be vegan. It refers to Calcium Phosphate, a mineral often derived from rocks but sometimes from Whey (from cheese-making)1 and bones. Calcium Phosphate is used as a mineral supplement, an antacid, to treat various conditions including low blood calcium, in animal feeds, in fertilizers, glass making, enameling, dental products, and in the production of baking powders and wheat flour. Please check with the manufacturer to find out the source of E341. When you see an “E-number” like E341, it refers to an ingredient that has been approved by the European Union for use as a food additive.

1. “Kosher Food Production” by Zushe Yosef Blech, p. 391